R E C I P E | Easy Overnight Oats

by lhorreurdenuit

IMG_20160310_074714

I love making these oats when I know I’m going to be short on time in the mornings, but still want a hearty breakfast. This is honestly one of the best healthy breakfasts for lazy girls like me, who like to sleep in for as long as they can in the morning. This recipe makes about 2 servings.

(This recipe was inspired by Rachel Aust’s overnight oat recipe here)

Ingredients:

For the Oats

1 1/2 cup Oats

3 tbsp Chia Seeds

3-5 tbsp Shredded Coconut

1/2 can of Coconut Cream

Non-Dairy Milk (I use Almond Milk)

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

 

Toppings

1 Banana

Agave Nectar or Honey

Cinnamon

Slivered Almonds

 

Method:

  1. First, you’ll want to combine all of your dry ingredients. So that will be the oats, chia seeds and shredded coconut. For the chia seeds, I put in 2 tablespoons of whole seeds and 1 tablespoon of ground seeds. I just prefer the consistency a little bit more with the ground chia seeds. Also, for the shredded coconut, obviously you can put in more or less depending on how strong of a coconut flavor you want in your oats. Use a fork or your hands to mix together.
  2. Next, add in your 1/2 can of coconut cream and vanilla extract and thoroughly combine.
  3. This is the point where I determine how much of the non-dairy milk I’ll need. I don’t typically measure it out, but I’ll put in enough so that there is more liquid than the oat mixture and the milk is sitting at least 2 or 3 mm above the oats. Mix together one last time, making sure all of the oats have been combined with the liquid. If you’re using a square or rectangle container to store this in like I do, make sure there aren’t any oats stuck in the corners that haven’t been combined into the rest of the mixture.
  4. Store covered, in the refrigerator overnight or for at least 5 hours.
  5. The next morning, you have delicious overnight oats! I like to make a parfait type thing in a mason jar and then I’ll take it to school. It takes about 5 minutes to assemble and then I’m out the door! So first I’ll put in the oats, then some sliced banana, cinnamon on top of that, slivered almonds, a drizzle of agave nectar, and then top it off with some more oats and repeat the process until your mason jar is full.

 

